History of the Hall
Rous Lench Village Hall was known as Chafecote prior to being ceded to the community in 1947 by its then-owner, Mr Tom George Burn. It only subsequently became known as the Rous Lench Village Hall.
At the time of this writing, the Committee has not yet had an opportunity to prepare and post to the website a more complete history of the Hall. There are many historical notes and anecdotes about the Hall which are still referred to by local residents. Some of its history even appeared in London newspapers over 100 years ago!
We plan to update the site with more about the Hall's fascinating history, as well as that of the surrounding villages. In the meantime, the ARCH Benefice website contains a very interesting and informative history of the area that you may enjoy; please click here to see it.
Further historical information about the village can be found at the British History Online website; please click here to see it.